Thayers is owned by L'Oréal (France, EPA: OR), which acquired the brand on 1 November 2022.[1][2] Thayers was founded in 1847 in the United States and was independent until 2022.
This ownership is reported in official statements but has not yet been matched to a regulatory filing.
Thayers has made witch hazel preparations since 1847 and its alcohol-free toner became a substantial seller after online skincare communities recommended it. L'Oréal acquired the brand in 2022. Witch hazel is an astringent extracted from a North American shrub, and the alcohol-free version was the point of difference that drove the brand's revival.
L'Oreal acquired Thayers Natural Remedies, which has made witch hazel preparations since 1847 and whose alcohol-free toner became a substantial seller after online skincare communities recommended it. The price was not disclosed.
No tagged news items yet. Deals, regulatory actions and recalls are added from SEC filings, regulators and trade press; only titles and links are stored.
Headlines link to the original publisher. Brandtree does not reproduce article text.
Frequently asked questions
Who is the parent company of Thayers?
⌄
The parent company of Thayers is L'Oréal, a publicly listed company headquartered in France.
Is Thayers American or French?
⌄
Thayers originated in the United States in 1847, but it is owned today by L'Oréal, which is headquartered in France. So Thayers is an American-origin brand under French ownership.
When did L'Oréal buy Thayers?
⌄
L'Oréal completed its acquisition of Thayers on 1 November 2022, after announcing the deal on 11 October 2022. The price was not disclosed.
Who owned Thayers before L'Oréal?
⌄
Thayers was an independent company from its founding in 1847 until L'Oréal acquired it in 2022.
Is Thayers still owned by L'Oréal?
⌄
Yes. As of 16 September 2026, Thayers is still owned by L'Oréal. The ownership record was last checked against primary sources on that date.
Sources (2) & corrections
Last verified . Every ownership fact above is backed by one of these primary documents. Numbers in brackets in the text refer to this list.