Method is owned by SC Johnson (the United States), which acquired the brand in 2018.[1][2][3] Method was founded in 2000 in San Francisco and was independent until 2018.
This ownership is reported in official statements but has not yet been matched to a regulatory filing.
Method makes design-led household cleaning products, founded in San Francisco in 2000 by two friends who thought cleaning products were ugly and unnecessarily toxic, and whose teardrop dish soap bottle was designed to be left out on the counter. SC Johnson acquired it with Ecover in 2017.
SC Johnson agreed in September 2017 to buy Method and Ecover from People Against Dirty, and completed the purchase in 2018 after clearing regulators in the United States, the United Kingdom and Germany. The company said at the time that, being privately held, it does not disclose financial details of its transactions, and it never has. Only the year of completion is recorded here.
No tagged news items yet. Deals, regulatory actions and recalls are added from SEC filings, regulators and trade press; only titles and links are stored.
Headlines link to the original publisher. Brandtree does not reproduce article text.
Frequently asked questions
Who is the parent company of Method?
⌄
The parent company of Method is SC Johnson, a family-owned company headquartered in the United States.
Is Method American?
⌄
Yes. Method originated in the United States in 2000 and its owner, SC Johnson, is also headquartered in the United States.
When did SC Johnson buy Method?
⌄
SC Johnson completed its acquisition of Method in 2018, after announcing the deal on 14 September 2017. The price was not disclosed.
Who owned Method before SC Johnson?
⌄
Method was an independent company from its founding in 2000 in San Francisco until SC Johnson acquired it in 2018.
Is Method still owned by SC Johnson?
⌄
Yes. As of 16 September 2026, Method is still owned by SC Johnson. The ownership record was last checked against primary sources on that date.
Sources (3) & corrections
Last verified . Every ownership fact above is backed by one of these primary documents. Numbers in brackets in the text refer to this list.