Galbani is owned by Lactalis (France), which acquired the brand on 1 April 2006.[1][2] Galbani was founded in 1882 in Lombardy and was independent until 2006.
This ownership is reported in official statements but has not yet been matched to a regulatory filing.
Galbani is the largest cheese brand in Italy, founded in Lombardy in 1882 and known for mozzarella, mascarpone and Bel Paese. Lactalis acquired it in 2006, one of a series of purchases that made the French group the largest dairy business in Italy.
Lactalis acquired Galbani from the private equity firm BC Partners, buying the largest cheese brand in Italy and with it a position in mozzarella and mascarpone that its French portfolio lacked. The price was not disclosed by the parties.
No tagged news items yet. Deals, regulatory actions and recalls are added from SEC filings, regulators and trade press; only titles and links are stored.
Headlines link to the original publisher. Brandtree does not reproduce article text.
Frequently asked questions
Who is the parent company of Galbani?
⌄
The parent company of Galbani is Lactalis, a family-owned company headquartered in France.
Is Galbani Italian or French?
⌄
Galbani originated in Italy in 1882, but it is owned today by Lactalis, which is headquartered in France. So Galbani is an Italian-origin brand under French ownership.
When did Lactalis buy Galbani?
⌄
Lactalis completed its acquisition of Galbani on 1 April 2006, after announcing the deal on 1 April 2006. The price was not disclosed.
Who owned Galbani before Lactalis?
⌄
Galbani was an independent company from its founding in 1882 in Lombardy until Lactalis acquired it in 2006.
Is Galbani still owned by Lactalis?
⌄
Yes. As of 16 September 2026, Galbani is still owned by Lactalis. The ownership record was last checked against primary sources on that date.
Sources (2) & corrections
Last verified . Every ownership fact above is backed by one of these primary documents. Numbers in brackets in the text refer to this list.
[1]Lactalis — our brands — Groupe Lactalis, Official document; retrieved 16 September 2026.