The Vegetarian Butcher is owned by Unilever (the United Kingdom, LSE: ULVR), which acquired the brand on 19 December 2018.[1][2] The Vegetarian Butcher was founded in 2010 in the Netherlands and was independent until 2018.
The Vegetarian Butcher was founded in the Netherlands in 2010 by a ninth-generation farmer who stopped eating meat and set out to make plant-based versions convincing enough for butchers to sell. Unilever acquired it in December 2018, and its products supply foodservice customers including fast-food chains across Europe.
Unilever acquired The Vegetarian Butcher, a Dutch meat substitute company founded by a former farmer. It later supplied the plant-based patty used by Burger King across Europe. The price was not disclosed.
No tagged news items yet. Deals, regulatory actions and recalls are added from SEC filings, regulators and trade press; only titles and links are stored.
Headlines link to the original publisher. Brandtree does not reproduce article text.
Frequently asked questions
Who is the parent company of The Vegetarian Butcher?
⌄
The parent company of The Vegetarian Butcher is Unilever, a publicly listed company headquartered in the United Kingdom.
Is The Vegetarian Butcher Dutch or British?
⌄
The Vegetarian Butcher originated in the Netherlands in 2010, but it is owned today by Unilever, which is headquartered in the United Kingdom. So The Vegetarian Butcher is a Dutch-origin brand under British ownership.
When did Unilever buy The Vegetarian Butcher?
⌄
Unilever completed its acquisition of The Vegetarian Butcher on 19 December 2018, after announcing the deal on 19 December 2018. The price was not disclosed.
Who owned The Vegetarian Butcher before Unilever?
⌄
The Vegetarian Butcher was an independent company from its founding in 2010 until Unilever acquired it in 2018.
Is The Vegetarian Butcher still owned by Unilever?
⌄
Yes. As of 16 September 2026, The Vegetarian Butcher is still owned by Unilever. The ownership record was last checked against primary sources on that date.
Sources (2) & corrections
Last verified . Every ownership fact above is backed by one of these primary documents. Numbers in brackets in the text refer to this list.