Brandtree

Unilever: brands it owns and its ownership tree

Unilever (LSE: ULVR, NYSE: UL, AEX: UNA) is a publicly listed company headquartered in London, United Kingdom that owns 55 consumer brands across 5 categories, and has 22 recorded transactions.[1]

Unilever is a British consumer goods company formed in 1929 by the merger of Dutch margarine producer Margarine Unie and British soap maker Lever Brothers. It reports through four business groups: Beauty & Wellbeing, Personal Care, Home Care and Foods. Its ice cream business was demerged as The Magnum Ice Cream Company in December 2025.

Company facts

Legal name
Unilever PLC (also Unilever Group, Unilever N.V.)
Type
publicly listed company · see all publicly listed company owners
Headquarters
🇬🇧 London, United Kingdom
Founded
1929
Tickers
LSE: ULVR NYSE: UL AEX: UNA
SEC CIK
0000217410
Companies House
00041424
Wikidata
Q157062
Website
www.unilever.com
Last verified
· 17 sources

Unilever in numbers

Everything Unilever owns

2026

Controlling ownership as of . Brands grouped under the entity that owns them; large groups are collapsed.

Everything Unilever owns Tree of 55 brands under Unilever. Unilever Axe Bango Brut Cif Clear Close-Up Colman's Comfort and 47 more

Full-screen interactive tree → · Download as infographic

Brand portfolio by category

Full portfolio, 55 brands, with sources → · Competitors by shared categories →

Acquisitions by Unilever

Merger announced

McCormick acquires Knorr and Hellmann's

Unilever agreed to combine its Foods business, home of Knorr and Hellmann's, with McCormick in a Reverse Morris Trust: Unilever would receive $15.7 billion in cash, and Unilever and its shareholders would own 65 per cent of the combined company with McCormick's existing holders owning 35 per cent. McCormick valued Unilever Foods at an enterprise value of about $44.8 billion. It would be the largest reshaping of Unilever since the ice cream demerger, leaving it a beauty, personal care and home care company.

Value
$44.8bn
Seller
Unilever
Regulatory
None recorded
Acquisition closed

Unilever acquires Grüns

Unilever acquired 80 per cent of the shares of Grüns, a United States maker of daily greens and nutrient gummies founded in 2023, on 1 June 2026 for consideration of €767 million, and recognised a liability for the future purchase of the remaining non-controlling interest. Grüns joined Unilever's Wellbeing business alongside Liquid I.V. and Nutrafol, which were also bought as young supplement brands.

Value
€767m
Seller
—
Regulatory
None recorded
Acquisition closed

Unilever acquires Nutrafol

Unilever took majority ownership of Nutrafol, a hair growth supplement brand, having first invested in 2018. The price was not disclosed.

Value
Undisclosed
Seller
—
Regulatory
None recorded
Acquisition closed

Unilever acquires Paula's Choice

Unilever acquired Paula's Choice, a skincare brand founded by a writer who had built an audience by criticising the cosmetics industry's claims. Press reports suggested around $2 billion; neither party disclosed a figure.

Value
Undisclosed
Seller
—
Regulatory
None recorded
Acquisition closed

Unilever acquires Liquid I.V.

Unilever acquired Liquid I.V., an American hydration powder brand sold largely online. The price was not disclosed, and the brand has since become one of the faster-growing products in the group's portfolio.

Value
Undisclosed
Seller
—
Regulatory
None recorded
Acquisition closed

Unilever acquires Horlicks

Unilever acquired GlaxoSmithKline's Indian consumer nutrition business, including Horlicks, in a transaction valued at about €3.3 billion and settled largely in Hindustan Unilever shares. It is one of the largest deals ever done in Indian consumer goods.

Value
€3.3bn
Seller
—
Regulatory
None recorded
Acquisition closed

Unilever acquires Tatcha

Unilever acquired Tatcha, a skincare brand drawing on Japanese ingredients and ritual. Press reports put the price near $500 million, but neither party disclosed it, so no figure is recorded here.

Value
Undisclosed
Seller
—
Regulatory
None recorded
Acquisition closed

Unilever acquires The Vegetarian Butcher

Unilever acquired The Vegetarian Butcher, a Dutch meat substitute company founded by a former farmer. It later supplied the plant-based patty used by Burger King across Europe. The price was not disclosed.

Value
Undisclosed
Seller
—
Regulatory
None recorded
Acquisition closed

Unilever acquires SheaMoisture

Unilever acquired Sundial Brands, owner of SheaMoisture, a company built around hair and skin care for Black consumers that mainstream brands had long underserved. The price was not disclosed.

Value
Undisclosed
Seller
—
Regulatory
None recorded

Full ownership and deal history →

Divestitures and spin-offs by Unilever

Spin-off closed

Ben & Jerry's, Magnum, Wall's, Cornetto, Breyers, Talenti, Yasso, Popsicle, Klondike, Twister, Carte d'Or, Viennetta, Solero and Calippo separated from Unilever

Unilever separated its ice cream business as The Magnum Ice Cream Company, whose shares were admitted to trading on Euronext Amsterdam, the London Stock Exchange and the New York Stock Exchange on 8 December 2025. Unilever shareholders received shares in the new company as a demerger dividend, and Unilever retained a 19.9% stake at admission.

Value
—
Seller
Unilever
Regulatory
None recorded
Divestiture closed

KKR acquires Flora, Becel, Country Crock, I Can't Believe It's Not Butter!, Rama, Blue Band and ProActiv

Unilever sold its spreads business to KKR, which established it as a standalone company named Upfield. Unilever had been trying to exit margarine for years as consumption declined, and the sale followed its rejection of a takeover approach from Kraft Heinz that had prompted a strategic review.

Value
€6.83bn
Buyer
KKR
Seller
Unilever
Regulatory
None recorded
Acquisition closed

Hormel Foods acquires Skippy

Hormel acquired Skippy from Unilever for about $700 million, buying the second largest peanut butter brand in the United States. Unilever had held it since taking over Bestfoods in 2000 and was narrowing its food portfolio; Hormel was broadening beyond tinned meat.

Value
$700m
Seller
Unilever
Regulatory
None recorded
Acquisition closed

Colgate-Palmolive acquires Sanex

Colgate-Palmolive bought Sanex from Unilever for about EUR 672 million. Unilever was selling because competition authorities required it to divest Sanex before it could complete its purchase of Sara Lee's personal care business, so one company's remedy became another's acquisition.

Value
€672m
Seller
Unilever
Regulatory
None recorded

Brands Unilever no longer owns

Unilever controlled these 23 brands in the past. Each row shows when the ownership ended and who holds the brand now, so a page that once said Unilever owned it still shows why it no longer does.

Full ownership and deal history for Unilever →

Regulatory history

CaseRegulatorDecisionDate
M.1990european commissioncleared with remedies28 September 2000
M.1802european commissioncleared with remedies8 March 2000

Latest news about Unilever

Headlines link to the original publisher. Brandtree does not reproduce article text.

Official recalls involving Unilever products

8 recall notices from government regulators matched to Unilever. Each applies to the specific products, sizes and lot codes named in the notice, not to every product sold under the name.

3 more recalls

Matched automatically from FDA, USDA FSIS, UK Food Standards Agency and CPSC records only when the recalling firm corresponds to this ownership record and, for a brand, the brand name appears in the product description. Check the linked notice for exact products and lots. Method.

Frequently asked questions

What brands does Unilever own?

Unilever owns 55 consumer brands tracked here, including Persil, Bango, Marmite, Rexona, Lifebuoy and Horlicks.

Is Unilever a British company?

Yes. Unilever is headquartered in London, United Kingdom and was founded in 1929.

Who owns Unilever?

Unilever is a publicly listed company owned by its shareholders; it trades as ULVR on the LSE, UL on the NYSE and UNA on the AEX.

What was Unilever's most recent acquisition?

The most recent completed acquisition recorded here is Grüns on 1 June 2026.

Sources (17) & corrections

Last verified . Every ownership fact above is backed by one of these primary documents. Numbers in brackets in the text refer to this list.

  1. [1] Unilever PLC Annual Report on Form 20-F filed 2026-03-12 — SEC EDGAR, SEC Form 20-F, published 12 March 2026; retrieved 16 September 2026.
  2. [2] Unilever PLC Annual Report and Accounts — acquisitions — Unilever PLC, Annual report; retrieved 16 September 2026.
  3. [3] Unilever PLC Form 6-K - half-year report to 30 June 2026, acquisitions note — SEC EDGAR, SEC filing; retrieved 16 September 2026.
  4. [4] Unilever to acquire U.S. Greens Supplement company Grüns — Unilever PLC, Official press release; retrieved 16 September 2026.
  5. [5] European Commission merger case M.1990 — Unilever / Bestfoods — European Commission, DG Competition, Regulator decision, published 28 September 2000; retrieved 16 September 2026.
  6. [6] Unilever PLC Annual Report on Form 20-F for 2025 — SEC EDGAR, SEC Form 20-F, published 12 March 2026; retrieved 16 September 2026.
  7. [7] Unilever completes acquisition of GSK's health food drinks portfolio — Unilever PLC, Official press release, published 1 April 2020; retrieved 16 September 2026.
  8. [8] McCormick & Company Form 8-K/A - combination with Unilever Foods — SEC EDGAR, SEC Form 8-K, published 6 April 2026; retrieved 16 September 2026.
  9. [9] McCormick & Company Rule 425 filing - investor call transcript on the Unilever Foods combination — SEC EDGAR, SEC filing, published 1 April 2026; retrieved 16 September 2026.
  10. [10] The Magnum Ice Cream Company N.V. Annual Report on Form 20-F for 2025 — SEC EDGAR, SEC Form 20-F, published 18 March 2026; retrieved 16 September 2026.
  11. [11] Upfield — our brands — Upfield Holdings B.V., Official document; retrieved 18 September 2026.
  12. [12] Hormel Foods Corporation Form 8-K - acquisition of the Skippy business — SEC EDGAR, SEC Form 8-K, published 31 January 2013; retrieved 16 September 2026.
  13. [13] Colgate-Palmolive Company Form 10-K - Sanex acquisition — SEC EDGAR, SEC Form 10-K, published 16 February 2012; retrieved 16 September 2026.
  14. [14] Ben & Jerry's Homemade, Inc. Form 8-K — Item 1, Changes in Control of Registrant — SEC EDGAR, SEC Form 8-K, published 22 May 2000; retrieved 16 September 2026.
  15. [15] Ben & Jerry's Homemade, Inc. definitive merger proxy statement (DEFM14A) — SEC EDGAR, SEC proxy statement, published 6 July 2000; retrieved 16 September 2026.
  16. [16] Ben & Jerry's Homemade, Inc. Form 15-12G — deregistration following the merger — SEC EDGAR, SEC filing, published 3 August 2000; retrieved 16 September 2026.
  17. [17] European Commission merger case M.1802 — Unilever / Amora-Maille — European Commission, DG Competition, Regulator decision, published 8 March 2000; retrieved 16 September 2026.

Report a correction Opens a pre-filled GitHub issue. See our corrections policy.